Religion Newswriters Association honors top religion reporting


DURHAM — Religion reporters from across the country won top honors Saturday (Sept. 17) at the 2011 Religion Newswriters Association’s annual awards competition.

Michelle Boorstein won the large newspaper reporting award for The Washington Post, followed by the The New York Time’s Laurie Goodstein and Adelle Banks of the Religion News Service.

Tim Townsend of St. Louis Post-Dispatch won the metro newspaper reporter of the year award, followed by Tim Funk of The Charlotte Observer and Michelle Bearden of The Tampa Tribune.

The Cornell Religion Reporter of the Year award for mid-sized newspapers went to Bob Smietana of the The Tennessean in Nashville, followed by Peggy Fletcher Stack of The Salt Lake Tribune, Kristen Moulton of The Salt Lake Tribune and honorable mentions to David Yonke of The (Toledo) Blade and freelancer Rasha Elass.

In the Cassels Religion Reporter of the Year contest for small newspapers, first place went to Melissa Burke of the York (Pa.) Daily Record, followed by Brett Buckner of Anniston (Ala.) Star, Tracy O’Shaughnessy of Republican American in Waterbury, Conn. and Amy Umble of The (Fredericksburg) Free Lance-Star (honorable mention).

William Wan of The Washington Post won first-place in the Supple Religion Writer of the Year award, followed by Laurie Goodstein of the The New York Times and Peggy Fletcher Stack of The Salt Lake Tribune.

The Gerald A. Renner Enterprise award went to Tony Carnes of “A Journey Through NYC Religions,” followed by Candace R. Kwiatek of The Dayton Jewish Observer and Laurie Goodstein of The New York Times.

Religion commentary of the year went to Kay Campbell of The Huntsville Times, followed by Laura Silver of The Huffington Post and Phyllis Zagano of Religion News Service.

The Schachern Award for Multimedia Reporting went to Tracy Simmons of, followed by David Noyce of The Salt Lake Tribune and Elizabeth Tenety and Sally Quinn of The Washington Post.